J.B.’S AUTHOR INTERVIEW SERIES

In this brand new series I’ll be introducing you to some of the finest authors around. You’ll get a peek inside their mind and their process. Welcome to J.B.’s Author Interview Series.

THE PARTY

C.K. Dawn

J.B. Taylor – What inspires you?

Most Science Fiction – Fantasy movies and t.v. shows inspire me. I mean the tech gadgets are just too cool! Don’t even get me started on my favorites Star Wars and Star Trek! (yes both and yes, I’m a huge nerd.) My lil’ sis is a HUGE inspiration for me as well and even some of my crazy dreams inspire me, turning them into written stories is a lot of fun.

J.B. Taylor – What’s your favorite book?

C.K. Dawn – Ooh that’s a tough one. I don’t have just one favorite book, but one of my all-time favorite series is the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning.

J.B. Taylor – If you were asked to unload a 747 full of jelly beans, what would you do?

C.K. Dawn – Lmao, dive in and swim in them.

J.B. Taylor – Where do you like to write?

C.K. Dawn – In bed snuggled up with my cat Hagrid.

J.B. Taylor –Which Harry Potter house would you belong to?

C.K. Dawn – Ravenclaw

J.B. Taylor – What is your favorite word?

C.K. Dawn – Fuck (…sorry) Terrible for a young adult author to admit I know, but it’s true, and I use it far too often when I speak.

J.B. Taylor –What is your least favorite word?

C.K. Dawn – I love most words, they give life to our work, but there are some pretty hateful words that I don’t like, especially racially hateful terms and slangs.

J.B. Taylor – What was the first story you ever wrote, and what happened to that story?

C.K. Dawn – Cloak of Shadows is the first story I’ve completed and it became a bronze medal Readers’ Favorite award winner.

J.B. Taylor – Tell us about your process: Pen, paper, word processor, human sacrifice … how do you write?

C.K. Dawn – Lol. Laptop in the middle of the night, in the dark, and usually after a hot shower during which a scene will pop in my mind on a loop and won’t let go until I get it out of my head and typed out.

J.B. Taylor – What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made as a writer?

C.K. Dawn – Not realizing readers would consider Cloak of Shadows’ ending such a big cliffhanger and not having book 2 closer to being finished so readers wouldn’t have to wait so long for its release.

J.B. Taylor – What else are you working on?

C.K. Dawn – Books 2 and 3 in the Netherwalker Series, Cloak of Secrets and Veil of Light, and a sexy paranormal romance for new adult readers called Wicked Deadly.

J.B. Taylor – In a perfect world where you could cast your book for a movie, who would you pick for your main characters?

C.K. Dawn – I struggle with this all the time! I haven’t found an actress as of yet that I’d cast for my heroine Lourdes Reese, but Logan Templeton, to me, looks like a darker haired scruffy version of Chris Hemsworth with a smirk and a steely stare that makes you weak in the knees.

J.B. Taylor – When you complete a story, do you let it go? Or do you like to stop and think about what your characters might be up to, what they might be doing?

C.K. Dawn – I’m constantly wondering what my characters are up to. Some of them are little terrors like Abbey Thorne and need constant supervision.

J.B. Taylor – Are you a panster or an outliner?

C.K. Dawn – Both. Initially I create an outline, but then always find myself writing scenes that are so out of the blue yet hair-raisingingly good, that I HAVE to fit them into the story. And the panster moments usually conform quite nicely and the entire story just flows. I love reading and writing. To me, it is pure bliss when the outside world disappears and written words on a page turn into a movie inside your head, don’t you think?

If you enjoyed the interview, how ’bout you follow one of the links below to enjoy the author’s work.

14114463_1756445887969197_125110075_o

Buy Link –

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NECU9W0/

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cloak-of-shadows-ck-dawn/1120587511?ean=2940046513769

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/cloak-shadows-netherwalker/id958389475?mt=11

14114463_1756445887969197_125110075_o

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

