J.B.’S AUTHOR INTERVIEW SERIES

In this brand new series I’ll be introducing you to some of the finest authors around. You’ll get a peek inside their mind and their process. Welcome to J.B.’s Author Interview Series.

THE PARTY

Lu Whitley

J.B. Taylor – What inspires you?

Lu Whitley – I’ve always had a huge imagination and a ton of characters vying for my attention. Some might call that mental illness, I suppose. I call it inspiration.

J.B. Taylor – What’s your favorite book?

Lu Whitley –  I don’t think I could narrow it down to that, but my favorite book SERIES is The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander. I first read them when I was 10 or 11, and I can remember feverishly rushing to the library to get the next book. After that, I was hooked on reading.

J.B. Taylor – If you were asked to unload a 747 full of jelly beans, what would you do?

Lu Whitley – Most likely set it on fire. I’m not a fan of jelly beans, but sugar does make pretty flames.

J.B. Taylor – Where do you like to write?

Lu Whitley – Anywhere I can be comfortable. Mostly, on my couch with all my furbabies climbing all over me.

J.B. Taylor – Which Harry Potter house would you belong to?

Lu Whitley – Slytherin for life!! Which, contrary to popular opinion, does not make me a horrible person.

J.B. Taylor – What is your favorite word?

Lu Whitley – Spelunking.

J.B. Taylor – What is your least favorite word?

Lu Whitley – I have many. All of them are insulting to a specific class or race of people, and they’re too ugly to write down.

J.B. Taylor – What was the first story you ever wrote, and what happened to that story?

Lu Whitley – In second grade, I wrote Smokey the Christmas Kitten. Based on a true story, it was a harrowing tale of opening a Christmas gift and finding a kitten inside, which I subsequently named, Smokey.

J.B. Taylor –Tell us about your process: Pen, paper, word processor, human sacrifice … how do you write?

Lu Whitley – My characters begin telling me a story in my head. I use pen and paper to write a shorthand version even I don’t understand. When I have the basic idea, I switch to the computer and write a completely different version. Until I get stuck. Rinse, lather, repeat.

J.B. Taylor – What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made as a writer?

Lu Whitley – Writing? No. I think underestimating the amount of time it takes to write, edit, self-publish, market, beg, plead, cry, drink, etc. I thought I’d write a book every six months. Um, no.

J.B. Taylor – What else are you working on?

Lu Whitley – Currently, Book 2 in the Fraktioneers series, which keeps vacillating between being one book or a book and an accompanying novella. Also, the first book in a new series I hope to have out at the beginning of next year.

J.B. Taylor – In a perfect world where you could cast your book for a movie, who would you pick for your main characters?

Lu Whitley – I have trouble doing this, because no one ever completely ‘fits’ with the picture I have in my head. But if someone was holding me at gunpoint, I’d have to pick: young Travis Fimmel for Jaromir, 1950s Elizabeth Taylor for Greta, I always picture August Brandt as Gregory Peck or Cary Grant, and Brock O’Hurn for Stein (because yum).

J.B. Taylor – When you complete a story, do you let it go? Or do you like to stop and think about what your characters might be up to, what they might be doing?

Lu Whitley – Let it go? What is this letting go? My characters are always there. They never leave.

J.B. Taylor – Are you a panster or an outliner?

Lu Whitley – Just call me PJ Pantser

14087637_10154479617274324_348409276_o.jpg

Synopsis

Her nightmares are real, and they’re out for blood.

Greta Brandt’s life is run of the mill, except for the nightmares – violent dreams of creatures that wear the skin of the people around her… and him, the man with the golden hair and incandescent red eyes.

After 800 cursed years, Jaromir Ragnarsson has finally found the violet-eyed woman with the star-shaped birthmark of the BloodMarked: Greta Brandt. But he’s not the only one who’s been searching for her.

When terror strikes close to home, Greta must finally accept her role in a world she thought only existed in her fevered dreams, putting her wavering trust in the one man who knows the full truth about her fate.

If you enjoyed the interview, how ’bout you follow one of the links below to enjoy the book.

Book buy link: http://bit.ly/BloodMarked

Or check out Lu Whitley’s Website

Website: https://lujwhitley.com

14087637_10154479617274324_348409276_o

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

