Misery: A Review

Featured image

This is the story about a writer, Paul Sheldon, who after a car crash is rescued by his biggest fan, Annie Wilkes.  Only it turns out he hadn’t been rescued at all. Not at all. He had been captured and was now a prisoner. What follows is, well… chilling. There’s really no other way to put it. This story was the most wicked work of fiction I’ve experienced in quite some time, maybe even ever.

Imagine a psychotic nut kidnapping you, and then imagine that that psychotic nut just happens to be your biggest fan. She has all your books and just loves you. Oh, and on top of that, imagine that she’s completely freaking pissed that you killed off her favorite character. Not good, dude. Not good at all.

Every second spent in this world was nerve-wracking and heart-pounding. It was brilliant and shocking. In one scene **SPOILER ALERT** **SPOILER ALERT** **SPOILER ALERT** Paul has his foot cut off with an ax, and later he has his thumb cut off with an electric knife. This churned my stomach big time.

Stephen King delivers an alarmingly real story that just doesn’t let up. Not even for a second. You would think that being locked in a room and forced to write back to life a character you killed off, with a psycho looming over you, would be bad enough. But King likes to take things to the limit and with this one he truly does. What helps this book a lot is the fact that everything that happens, could actually happen. Even with scenes taken to their utmost limit, nothing within this story is unrealistic. Not a single line of it.

If you read this story, or listen to it, you will not finish it without sweaty palms and your ass perched on the edge of your seat.

Now about that ending…

I won’t spoil anything for you, but… damn, just… damn. What an ending. I honestly had an ending in my head, one that I thought the story had set up perfectly, but I was surprised and pleasantly so. I loved it. It was action-packed. Also it was emotional. As it should be after experiencing Paul’s story.

Does Paul survive? Does Annie add another kill to her belt?

I don’t know… well, I do, but you’ll just have to find out for yourself.

5 Crazy Stalker Fans out 5

This blog was written by J.B. Taylor, a proud #Awethors member.

Featured image

Author: jb29taylor

I was born in Indiana where I still reside with my three lovely dogs. I have published multiple novels and have a few adapted into audiobooks. I am currently working on three stories.

Leave a Reply

