My review of: Maggie

Featured image

Synopsis

When a deadly zombie virus sweeps the nation, a father will stop at nothing to save his infected daughter in this post-apocalyptic thriller starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and Abigail Breslin.

Genres

Drama, Thriller, Horror

Actors:

Arnold Schwarzenegger

Abigail Breslin

Supporting actors

Joely Richardson, Douglas M. Griffin, J.D. Evermore, Rachel Whitman Groves, Jodie Moore, Bryce Romero, Raeden Greer, Aiden Flowers, Carsen Flowers, Walter Von Huene, Dana Gourrier, Amy Brassette, David A Cole, Mattie Liptak, Liann Pattison, Maris Black, Jessy Hughes, Denise Williamson

MPAA rating

PG-13

Now for my review.

~Spoilers Ahead~

The synopsis had Arnold Schwarzenegger’s character stopping at nothing. This is not the case. At all. But despite that… it was a great film. Yes, a zombie story starring ‘The Govenator’ was a great. And he didn’t even say, “I’ll be back” once. How ’bout them apples.

I don’t like dramas. I just don’t. But this was good.

Most zombies have two weeks before they turn into flesh-eating monsters. Most go to quarantine but every now and again some are allowed home. Well, if your Arnold’s daughter you are anyways.

This set-up, though a little convenient, allows for a gripping story about a father trying to spend a last few days with his daughter, and about a young girl just trying to come to grips with what has happened to her. The story had heart, and was truly compelling. I even teared up a few times. Yes an  Arnold Schwarzenegger had me tearing up. And it wasn’t even because it sucked. And some of his movies do suck that bad. Though I will say that I am a fan. Just want to throw that out there.

The writing was great, the tone dark and mysterious… and the film, it was truly powerful and gripping. I wanted to hate it. Wanted to say, “fuck this, I’m watching TV” but I couldn’t. The story pulled me in, and had my feels all in a flux. Damn you Arnold!!

And that ending… Damn. Just… damn.

4 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

