My review of Suspiria

MV5BMjI5NTA4NzI1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzczMDY5MDE@._V1_SX214_AL_

A newcomer to a fancy ballet academy gradually comes to realize that the school is a front for something far more sinister and supernatural amidst a series of grisly murders.

Director: Dario Argento

Writers: Dario Argento, Daria Nicolodi,Thomas De Quincey … (book “Suspiria de Profundis”) (uncredited)

Stars: Jessica Harper, Stefania Casini, Flavio Bucci

I heard Argento was a legend so I gave this movie a shot. From moment one it was cheesy. I understand people love cheesy horror films, and I’m one of them, but this was just fucking idiotic. It was angering as well because it could have been so damn good. If it cut out the unnecessary usage of lights and music and let the silence in those would-be frightening moments do the work. The side characters were over the top, and the plot ignorant. If all those involved with the film would have taken it seriously, it would be a true masterpiece.

Seriously. The jumps, the frights, the cringe-worthy moments would have been there if the silence was allowed to play a leading role. I would have been on the edge of my fucking seat. Glued to the television. Yet I wasted two hours of my time. Time I’ll never get back.

Do yourself a favor and stay away from this flick. It’s atrocious.

0 out of 5 stars

Author: jb29taylor

I was born in Indiana where I still reside with my three lovely dogs. I have published multiple novels and have a few adapted into audiobooks. I am currently working on three stories.

Leave a Reply

