Author’s you should know Series

Featured image

D.M. Cain

Author of these fine works

Featured image Featured image

Below are the links to where you can find D.M.’s trailers for her books.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nH7ENZ7pAjs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeLRGBpbeLI

D.M. is a really fantastic person, and graciously agreed to an interview.

Me: If you could pick one food to eat for the rest of your life, what would you choose and why?

D.M.: Japanese curry (strange choice, I know!) but I never get tired of it!

Me: If you were a chair, what kind of chair would you be?

D.M.: One of those stubborn office chairs that is functional but unyielding 😉

Me: What inspires you?

D.M.: Epic music like you stuff get on movie trailers. The group Two Steps from Hell are awesome and every time I write I pop some of their music on as it puts vivid scenes in my head.

Me: How would your favorite professor describe you?

D.M.: Misleading – she looks so quiet and socially awkward but has lots of secrets and often surprises me!

Me: What motivates you in life?

D.M.: Doing as much as I can with the time and resources I have. On my deathbed I want myself and my family to look back upon my life and be proud of everything I achieved.

Me: Say you’re in a log cabin and are preparing to go hunting. You grab your rifle and walk outside. You see a bear and immediately follow in pursuit of it. You travel one mile north, one mile east, and one mile south. You’re back at the log cabin with the bear in your rifle’s crosshairs. What color is the bear?

D.M.: Purple! It’s as likely as anything else in that story with regards to me

Me.: What’s your favorite book?

D.M.: The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde – it works on some many levels and I get something different from it every time I read it!

Me: What’s the most interesting thing about you that we wouldn’t learn from your resume alone?

D.M.: I’m a massive geek and the things that have had a huge impact on my life to date are often films, anime series and video games.

Me: What country would you invest in? Why? Walk me through your analysis.

D.M.: Japan – I couldn’t cope if they ever stopped producing all my favourite games and series, plus of course they are at the forefront of a lot of awesome technological advancements.

Me: What about your grandma would make it good or bad to lend to her?

D.M.: Good I suppose, but don’t mess with her – she’s a tough cookie!

Me: In a crowded room discussing a problem, would you fit in? Why or why not?

D.M.: Depends on who was in the room. Room of strangers, work colleagues or acquaintances and you wouldn’t even know I was there because I’d hide in a corner and not say a word. Room of my closest friends and I’d be in the middle taking charge and shouting orders 😉

Me: What three traits define you?

D.M.: Hard-working, kind and deep

Me: What’s most important in your life?
D.M.: My family – especially my lovely husband and my three year old son.

Me: What did you have for breakfast?

D.M.: Scrambled egg on toast!

Me: If you were asked to unload a 747 full of jelly beans, what would you do?

D.M.: I’d swim my way in and lie amongst the jelly goodness, scoffing my face and pretending to be finding a way to get them all out.

↑ (Greatest. Answer. Ever)

Me: What’s your favorite Disney Princess?

D.M.: Merida – because she’s tough, knows what she wants and doesn’t allow other people to choose her destiny.

Me: Describe the color purple to somebody who’s blind.

D.M.: Imagine being frozen and yet boiling hot at the same time, excited yet calm – that’s purple to me.

Me: What do you think of garden gnomes?

D.M.: Damn freaky…

Me: What’s your favorite 80’s song?

D.M.: This Charming Man by The Smiths

Me: If you were a tree, which would you be and why?

D.M.: I had no idea on this one so I typed ‘What tree am I?’ into Google and did a quick test. This is what I got. It’s pretty spot on! :

Answer continued: You are a Giant Redwood. You are strong-willed and stubborn. You won’t change for anyone or anything.You may have your feet planted firmly on the ground, but you don’t get stuck in a rut. You change on your own terms. You are constantly reaching for the top. You have high goals, and you work hard to achieve them. Once you get fixated on something or something, that’s it! You’re likely to be obsessed for life.

Me: Where do you like to write?

D.M.: In pubs, cafes, bars etc – there’s something about hiding in a little corner in a pub that does wonders for my creativity.

Me: If you were alone on an island and had 3 wishes, what would they be?

D.M.: Get off the island and go home, be able to return to said island and zip back again in the blink of an eye, whenever I wanted, and be able to take people backwards and forwards with me.

Me: If you could bring to life anyone who has died, who would it be and why?

D.M.: My Grandad who died when I was a baby. I know my Gran still misses him and he would love to see his great-granchildren.

Me: If you could visit any city in the world, where would you go?

D.M.: Cusco in Peru. I am desperate to visit Machu Picchu and the Amazon and Cusco is a great place to do that from. My ultimate dream 

Me: What’s your favorite number?

D.M.: 24 – not sure why!

Me: When you were a child, what did you always want to be when you grew up?

D.M.: A vet because as a kid I loved animals. Sounds like a horrible job now I’m older though. I think I’d probably hate it!

Me.: Paper or plastic?

D.M.: Depends on the task it is required for, surely. I’m quite fond of paper, however, in a pleasant nostalgic way as it reminds me of books.

Me: Who would win: Superman or Batman?

D.M.: I hate myself for this… but Superman. Batman is WAY cooler and Superman’s really annoying, and frankly quite dull, but there is literally nothing Superman can’t do. Damn overpowered superheroes…

↑ (I take that back. That, was the Greatest. Answer. Ever)

Me: Who is your favorite Muppet?

D.M.: This will shock and appall… but I don’t think I’ve ever really watched it for long enough to know any of them. I think maybe the Cookie Monster is one, right? I’ll go with that.

Me: Which Harry Potter house would you belong to?

D.M.: 100% Ravenclaw – Wit beyond measure is man’s greatest treasure 😉

Me: What is your favorite word?

D.M.: Hydraulic – I just love the way it sounds!

Me: What is your least favorite word?

D.M.: Guesstimate – whenever anybody says it, I want to punch them in the face…

(I laughed out loud at this)

Me: What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

D.M.: An impressive place of worship – like the Blue Mosque in Istanbul, St Peter’s Basilica in Rome etc. I’m not a religious person myself, but there’s something about churches and mosques that has a powerful impact on my spirituality, which then feeds into my creativity.

Me: What turns you off?
D.M.: Incessant noise, such as road traffic or crowds talking – it gives me a significant mental block.

Me: What is your favorite curse word?

D.M.: Not really official curses, but my husband was getting wound up on FIFA the other night and was shouting funny things – some of my favourites included ‘Monkey Giblets!’ and ‘You twat monger!’

Me: What sound or noise do you love?

D.M.: I love to hear kids playing and laughing – especially the chuckle of a toddler. So cute!

Me: What sound or noise do you hate?

D.M.: If I’m doing something else and my husband is watching football (soccer) on the TV, the sound of the crowd chanting really grates on me! If I’m watching, it doesn’t bother me at all.

Me: What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

D.M: I’d really like to be an editor for other people’s novels as I love language and grammar. I think developmental editing would be cool too – to point out overall plot inconsistencies or make suggestions for character development etc.

Me: What profession would you not like to do?

D.M.: Doctor or nurse on a paediatric ward – too depressing to see kids ill or dying.

Me: If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

D.M.: Great job, Cain! You led an awesome life! Now come in and relax, we have Game of Thrones on loop, Sonata Arctica to play live for you whenever you like, and this tray of never-ending chocolate

                                       Featured image Featured image

D.M. Cain’s Biography

D.M. Cain has been writing since the age of thirteen, but her first full length novel was self-published in May 2014. ‘The Phoenix Project’ is a psychological thriller set in a dystopian future.

Her second book, released in October 2014, was ‘A Chronicle of Chaos’ – the first in a dark fantasy series. In February 2015, she began to work with U.S. publisher Booktrope.

She is currently working on the next novel in the series – ‘The Shield of Soren’ and a short story to accompany it.

Cain lives in Leicestershire, UK with her husband and young son, and spends her time reading, writing and reviewing books, playing RPGs and listening to symphonic metal.

Author: jb29taylor

I was born in Indiana where I still reside with my three lovely dogs. I have published multiple novels and have a few adapted into audiobooks. I am currently working on three stories.

One thought on “Author’s you should know Series”

Leave a Reply

