My Top 5 Movies adapted from Books

My Top 5 Movies adapted from Books

I’ll begin with number 5

5

Image of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009)

A journalist is aided in his search for a woman who has been missing — or dead — for forty years by a young female hacker.
Stars:
This film put Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist on the map, and for a good reason.  Every second of this movie was tense, even with it being a Swedish film with subtitles.  You read the book, you know what’s going to happen, you have to read as well as watch, and yet you don’t want to leave your seat.  Yeah, I gotta piss like a Russian race horse, but I won’t ’cause this badass hacker and the middle-aged man with a hard-on for her are getting their detective on, and kicking some major ass.
Bottom line, don’t let the #5 position throw you off, it is a damn good movie.  If you haven’t seen it yet get off your ass and go get it.  Or if you have Netflix, take a piss, pop some popcorn, if the honey hasn’t had any given him/her some and then plop your ass on the couch because you’re in for one hell of a fun ride.  It’s a long film, but worth every second.
4
Image of Jurassic Park
During a preview tour, a theme park suffers a major power breakdown that allows its cloned dinosaur exhibits to run amok.
This film is very different from the book.  The tone itself, the characters, it is all different.  Yet I don’t give a shit because this was ride that was thrilling when I was a kid, and is still thrilling to this day.  The acting, my god the acting is tops, aces, fucking unbelievable.  The special effects, even better.  This is one of those rare films that you can watch every day if you wanted to, and it wouldn’t get old.  It is just that damn good.
3
Image of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Mere seconds before the Earth is to be demolished by an alien construction crew, journeyman Arthur Dent is swept off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher penning a new edition of “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”
Some people love it, others hate it.  To me it is the funniest fucking movie I’ve ever seen in my life.  It’s satirical, hysterical, an homage to both the weird and wacky, and to science-fiction.  Humma Kavula!!
I love this movie.  I can’t even begin to describe the happiness I feel when I watch it.
I mean who wouldn’t love
this,
Image result for The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy characters
Awwww, such a cutie.
Here is an actual quote from this lovable, and highly depressed robot
“Here I am, brain the size of a planet, and they ask me to take you to the bridge. Call that job satisfaction, ’cause I don’t.”
2
Image of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Rescued from the outrageous neglect of his aunt and uncle, a young boy with a great destiny proves his worth while attending Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.  It’s a movie for kids.  Well, I and millions of other adults, don’t give a shit.  ‘Cause this world that J.K. Rowling so beautifully created is one that once you submerse yourself in it you don’t want to leave it.  You never want the book to run out of pages to read, for the minutes in the movie to be unending, eternal; to last a million lifetimes.  This movie pulled at my heartstrings, made me smile, even had me tearing up a bit.  This is just one of those films that you shouldn’t miss out, and should own for yourself.
1
This one will probably surprise you.
Image of Fried Green Tomatoes
A housewife who is unhappy with her life befriends an old lady in a nursing home and is enthralled by the tales she tells of people she used to know.
Director: Jon Avnet
Stars:
I’ve seen this movie probably a hundred times, and it never fails to make me cry.  It’s poignant, gripping,and just downright funny as hell.  The acting is something to behold, the writing and directing equally so.  Every second of this film is pure gold. It’s one of those films that you have to watch.  You can’t call yourself a movie fan if you haven’t seen this film.
Watch it.  Trust me… You’ll like it.
Leave a Reply

