Writers know nothing

Jessica Marie Baumgartner

When I was actively writing and performing music I thought I knew everything. I could hit each note with precision, feel the rhythm within my bones, and execute a song so well that I was bombarded with praise once the set ended.

But I hit a point where I was stuck. Stuck in smokey bars, surrounded by the same audience. They followed me yes, but I wasn’t expanding, or improving. I stagnated.

At the time I didn’t get it. I loved music (and still do) so much that I let it consume me, but I didn’t want to share the creative process with anyone. I would lock myself away and practice vocals, write lyrics, and play play piano and guitar for around 6 hours a day.

I sold myself short by closing myself off. I get that now. I knew nothing, sure I listened to jazz greats and had an…

View original post 233 more words

Leave a Reply

